top of page

all music in the teaser and heard on this website is by Rich Douglas.  Original Flashback themes and motifs by Jean Baudlot & Fabrice Visserot


Flashback, released as Flashback: The Quest for Identity in the United States, is a 1992 science fiction cinematic platform game developed by Delphine Software of France and published by U.S. Gold in United States and Europe, and Sunsoft in Japan.  Music was composed by  Jean Baudlot & Fabrice Visserot.


The game was directed, written/designed and partially programmed by Paul Cuisset, who had previously created the adventure game Future Wars. Flashback was initially released for the Amiga in 1992, then ported toMS-DOS, Acorn Archimedes, Sega Mega Drive/Genesis and Super Nintendo in 1993. CD-ROM versions of Flashback for the Mega-CD, 3DO, CD-i, MS-DOS, Apple Macintosh and the FM Towns were released during 1994 and 1995, together with a cartridge version for the Atari Jaguar in 1995.


Originally advertised as a "CD-ROM game on a cartridge", the game features fully hand-drawn backdrops and all animation is rotoscoped, giving movements an unusual fluidity, similar to that of the earlier Prince of Persia. The capture technique of Flashback was invented independently of Prince of Persia, and used a more complicated method of first tracing video images onto transparencies.


The game was a commercial and critical success and was listed in the Guinness World Records as the best-selling French game of all time. It was followed by a sequel titled Fade to Black in 1995. In 2013, a Flashbackremake by VectorCell was released for the PC and consoles.


Flashback - The Quest for Identity was released on many systems in the early 1990s.  The game impacted me as both a gamer and as a video game composer and for years I have wanted to re-record the entire score.  Finally, the time is right and my music is where I feel it needs to be to tackle this project.  The themes by Jean Baudlot & Fabrice Visserot are infectious, well thought out, and frankly... just plain rad!  This release is my labor of love and something I have wanted to do for almost two decades.  For the purpose of this release, the album was officially licensed by ninjas over at Loudr so you will soon be able to find it for sale at stores like itunes, amazon, google play, and of course loudr for a very modest price.  


Since it is a licensed album, every purchase gets properly split and the original composers get their cut.  So you're not just supporting me, you're supporting the original composers... how cool is that?!?


What's with the 80s scifi vibe?  What does the album sound like?

Imagine if you will Flashback was released as an action scifi film in early 1980something complete with an all synthesizer score in the vein of those from such prolific composers as John Carpenter and Tangerine Dream.  For this re-recording, I have taken every piece of music as heard in the Super Nintendo version of the game and re-recorded / re-orchestrated them utilizing real vintage synths and vintage mastering chains for pure retro athenticity.  The themes are all there and have been tastefully reworked as an all synth 80s action score complete with VHS wobble and subtle tape hiss.  


A few of the synths used include (and some are "modern" synths with a vintage sound): Oberheim SEM, Prophet 5, Waldorf Streichfett, Arturia Microbrute, and a few retro drum machines.  To keep things simple and consistent, I kept the amount of equipment I used small.


What does this new version of the score sound like?  Well, you've already heard my rendition of the menu / options music in the teaser video above.  This is a SNES score reborn as a campy early 80s synth film score that doesnt exist and the ultimate and most complete release of the music from the game.  Some of the shorter tunes and motifs have even been expanded slightly for a more cohesive listening experience.  Fellow 80s fans and fans of Flashback.. THIS is the soundtrack release you've been waiting for!  


Here is the complete tracklisting: Total Running Time - 22 Minutes


THEMES AND MOTIFS BY:  Jean Baudlot & Fabrice Visserot

MUSIC BY: Rich Douglas



flashback the quest for identity soundtrack
  1. Delphine Logos

  2. Conrads Escape (Opening)

  3. Main TItles (Menu Screen)

  4. Waking

  5. A Dangerous Place

  6. Item Fanfare

  7. Sighting The Guard

  8. The Jump (Descent into the Tunnels)

  9. Entering New Washington

  10. Conrads Memories

  11. Mission

  12. Taxi Ride

  13. Tension (Death)

  14. Hypersleep (Menu Reprise)

  15. End Titles

  16. FLashback Menu Music - 2015 Cinematic Version






    I am a full time freelance composer with over 12 years of game audio and music experience, I have scored games across many platforms including the Xbox 360, PC, and iOS.


    A few of the games I have scored include Shadowgate (Zojoi), Lifeless Planet(stage2studios), Insurgency (New World Interactive), Carnivroes Reborn (Digital Dreams Entertainment), Takedown: Red Sabre (Serellan), and Evochron Mercenary (SW3D) all of which are currently available on STEAM.  


    I'm proud to say that I'm a Dallas, Texas native.. but am currently residing in Memphis TN in a constant state of BBQ induced Rock and Roll euphoria.




    Shrouded in a not so mysterious haze, I graduated from The Guildhall at SMU in 2005.  Shortly thereafter, I was hired by Id Software as a sound designer / composer / level designer.  And yes, John Carmack is as smart as you think, smarter, and a heck of a nice guy!  While at Id, I composed all of the music and sound heard in Orcs and Elves (EA/Id Mobile) as well as Orcs and Elves 2 (EA/Id Mobile) as well as tackled designing a handful of the levels within the game.


    The following year, I moved to Paradigm Entertainment (THQ), acting as the lone audio technician (audio director). While there, I had the opportunity to compose the majority of the music heard in Stuntman Ignition (THQ/Paradigm) as well as implememnt and mix all of the audio heard in game.


There's no telling what the future holds, just know that I'd love to score YOUR game



( feat.  new version of MENU / Options )


OUT NOW ON Loudr, itunes, and Amazon MP3 for $5.99

Click Below To PURCHASE

bottom of page